Have you been arrested and
charged with driving under the influence of drugs?
In Arizona, it is unlawful
for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in
this state while there is any drug defined in
A.R.S. 13-3401 or its metabolite in the person's body. [ARS
It is not a defense to a
charge of driving while impaired by drugs
[28-1381(A)(1)] that you were
taking the drugs lawfully with a prescription from your doctor.
A person using a drug
prescribed by a doctor or other appropriate medical practitioner
is not guilty of violation of
What does it mean?
Does the state have to prove impairment?
NO! If you have been
using illegal drugs, you know, marijuana, cocaine, meth . . . . the state
DOES NOT have to prove any impairment. If you are driving and
the state can prove you have an illegal drug in your body either through a
blood or urine test you most likely will be found GUILTY.
What happens to my driver license?
What are the penalties?
10 consecutive days in jail.
The court can suspend 9 days, in its discretion, if you agree to a
substance abuse evaluation and treatment as recommended.
$250 fine plus surcharges.
Community service may be
A period of unsupervised or
12 month suspension of your driver
license or Arizona driving privilege.
What do I do next?