HAVE A DRIVER LICENSE FROM A STATE OTHER THAN ARIZONA, AND YOU HAVE BEEN
ARRESTED AND/OR CONVICTED OF DUI IN ARIZONA, YOU NEED TO KNOW THE
Your driver license is at risk!
Your driver license could be
suspended, revoked, cancelled or withdrawn according to your home State or
the State law of where the driver license was issued.
Your driver license could be suspended or
revoked just as if you were convicted of DUI in your home State.
Individual State driver license offices
eventually communicate with one another via computer.
Sometime this takes months before you are
notified by your home State DMV.
Make sure you mailing address is current with your home State DMV as they will
generally send you a
notification which you are deemed to have received upon mailing to your
last known address.
Driving on a suspended license in Arizona and most other States is a very serious offense.
If you are arrested for DUI while your Arizona, or out of state, driver license is suspended
for any DUI conviction, or an implied
consent suspension either in Arizona or some other State, you most likely will be charged with
aggravated (felony) DUI. This is a class four (4) felony punishable
up to 3.75 years in prison. The penalties for this offense in other
States may vary so it is important to check your home State's laws.
In Arizona, driving on a suspended license is a Class One
misdemeanor which carries up to 6 months in county jail and a $2,500.00
fine with an 80% surcharge, plus an additional period of suspension of
your Arizona driver license.
Generally, whatever punishment you receive in the
Arizona DUI matter has nothing to do with what happens with your driver
license in your home State.
Example: If you were convicted in the Arizona of DUI,
and you had a California driver license, you would be facing driver
license suspension requirements in California just as if your were
convicted of DUI in California.