Arrested for DUI Outside the State of Arizona - Arizona DUI Defense
IF YOU HAVE AN ARIZONA DRIVER LICENSE AND HAVE BEEN CONVICTED OF DUI OUTSIDE THE STATE OF ARIZONA YOU NEED TO KNOW THE FOLLOWING:
Your Arizona Drivers License is at risk!
It can be suspended just as if you were convicted of DUI in the State of Arizona.
Individual State driver license offices communicate with one another via computer. Sometime this takes months before you are notified by the Arizona DMV.
Make sure you mailing address is current with DMV as they will send you a notification which you are deemed to have received upon mailing to your last known address.
PLEASE NOTE: Driving on a suspended license in Arizona is a very serious offense.
If you are arrested for DUI while your Arizona or out of state driver license is suspended for any DUI conviction, or an implied consent suspension either in Arizona or some other state, you most likely will be charged with aggravated (felony) DUI. This is a class four (4) felony punishable up to 3.75 years in prison.
In Arizona, driving on a suspended license is a Class One misdemeanor which carries up to 6 months in county jail and a $2,500.00 fine with an 80% surcharge, plus an additional period of suspension of your Arizona driver license.
If you are convicted of driving on a suspended license that was suspended for a DUI conviction, an "admin per se" suspension, or "implied consent" suspension you will be facing a minimum 48 consecutive hours in jail.
Whatever punishment you receive in the out of State DUI matter has nothing to do with what happens with your driver license in the State of Arizona.
Example: If you were convicted in the State of California of DUI, and you had an Arizona driver license, you would be facing the DUI consequences there i.e. fine, jail time, suspension of privilege to drive in California, probation, court ordered treatment in addition to having to face the music with the Arizona driver license people.